State law dictates when a child’s absence is considered excused. The situations include:
1) Illness of student
2) Death in the immediate family (1 excused day if the funeral is in California, and up to 3 days excused if it is outside of California)
3) Family illness
4) Religious holiday
5) Doctor/dentist appointment
6) Five days or more with an independent study contract that is arranged 2 weeks before the anticipated absence
In all other situations, even if a parent contacts the school, the absence is unexcused. This California policy exists to encourage families to do everything they can to ensure that their children attend school every day.
On Thursday, October 24th, all students who did not get their pictures taken on the first opportunity or families who want their children to get new photos, will be able to do so between 9:00 and 11:00.